page allocator: do not setup zonelist cache when there is only one node
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Tue, 16 Jun 2009 22:32:09 +0000 (15:32 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 17 Jun 2009 02:47:34 +0000 (19:47 -0700)
commitd395b73428d9748fb70b33477c9b2acae62f360a
tree942bcfe36894ca8e13e6773c4713442a58a44a6d
parentda456f14d2f2d7350f2b9440af79c85a34c7eed5
page allocator: do not setup zonelist cache when there is only one node

There is a zonelist cache which is used to track zones that are not in the
allowed cpuset or found to be recently full.  This is to reduce cache
footprint on large machines.  On smaller machines, it just incurs cost for
no gain.  This patch only uses the zonelist cache when there are NUMA
nodes.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/page_alloc.c