char/ipmi: fix OOPS caused by pnp_unregister_driver on unregistered driver
authorCorey Minyard <minyard@acm.org>
Thu, 10 Feb 2011 22:08:38 +0000 (16:08 -0600)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 11 Feb 2011 02:00:21 +0000 (18:00 -0800)
commitd2478521afc20227658a10a8c5c2bf1a2aa615b3
tree4131c840f6a01061a3dd65264ed2497178960df8
parentee24aebffb75a7f940cf52c8cf6910947b3130c0
char/ipmi: fix OOPS caused by pnp_unregister_driver on unregistered driver

This patch fixes an OOPS triggered when calling modprobe ipmi_si a
second time after the first modprobe returned without finding any ipmi
devices.  This can happen if you reload the module after having the
first module load fail.  The driver was not deregistering from PNP in
that case.

Peter Huewe originally reported this patch and supplied a fix, I have a
different patch based on Linus' suggestion that cleans things up a bit
more.

Cc: stable@kernel.org
Cc: openipmi-developer@lists.sourceforge.net
Reviewed-by: Peter Huewe <peterhuewe@gmx.de>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Corey Minyard <cminyard@mvista.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/char/ipmi/ipmi_si_intf.c