ACPI, intel_idle: Cleanup idle= internal variables
authorThomas Renninger <trenn@suse.de>
Wed, 3 Nov 2010 16:06:14 +0000 (17:06 +0100)
committerLen Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Wed, 12 Jan 2011 17:47:30 +0000 (12:47 -0500)
commitd18960494f65ca4fa0d67c865aaca99452070d15
tree93c37d0dd4bf8c254b312f75eb97f54077a9baed
parentd8c216cfa57e8a579f41729cbb88c97835d9ac8d
ACPI, intel_idle: Cleanup idle= internal variables

Having four variables for the same thing:
  idle_halt, idle_nomwait, force_mwait and boot_option_idle_overrides
is rather confusing and unnecessary complex.

if idle= boot param is passed, only set up one variable:
boot_option_idle_overrides

Introduces following functional changes/fixes:
  - intel_idle driver does not register if any idle=xy
    boot param is passed.
  - processor_idle.c will also not register a cpuidle driver
    and get active if idle=halt is passed.
    Before a cpuidle driver with one (C1, halt) state got registered
    Now the default_idle function will be used which finally uses
    the same idle call to enter sleep state (safe_halt()), but
    without registering a whole cpuidle driver.

That means idle= param will always avoid cpuidle drivers to register
with one exception (same behavior as before):
idle=nomwait
may still register acpi_idle cpuidle driver, but C1 will not use
mwait, but hlt. This can be a workaround for IO based deeper sleep
states where C1 mwait causes problems.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Renninger <trenn@suse.de>
cc: x86@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
arch/ia64/include/asm/processor.h
arch/ia64/kernel/process.c
arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
arch/x86/kernel/process.c
drivers/acpi/processor_core.c
drivers/acpi/processor_idle.c
drivers/idle/intel_idle.c