vfs: Fix /proc/<tid>/fdinfo/<fd> file handling
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 4 Jun 2012 18:00:45 +0000 (11:00 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sat, 9 Jun 2012 15:36:18 +0000 (00:36 +0900)
commitcf9ab4c62be7837c2f007cd51ab3604ca0620070
tree81b5d80733c87e81e8c153d11e937db2ce28d8c2
parentcd08f77d07306f1294a78f13de5f55348c21df5b
vfs: Fix /proc/<tid>/fdinfo/<fd> file handling

commit 0640113be25d283e0ff77a9f041e1242182387f0 upstream.

Cyrill Gorcunov reports that I broke the fdinfo files with commit
30a08bf2d31d ("proc: move fd symlink i_mode calculations into
tid_fd_revalidate()"), and he's quite right.

The tid_fd_revalidate() function is not just used for the <tid>/fd
symlinks, it's also used for the <tid>/fdinfo/<fd> files, and the
permission model for those are different.

So do the dynamic symlink permission handling just for symlinks, making
the fdinfo files once more appear as the proper regular files they are.

Of course, Al Viro argued (probably correctly) that we shouldn't do the
symlink permission games at all, and make the symlinks always just be
the normal 'lrwxrwxrwx'.  That would have avoided this issue too, but
since somebody noticed that the permissions had changed (which was the
reason for that original commit 30a08bf2d31d in the first place), people
do apparently use this feature.

[ Basically, you can use the symlink permission data as a cheap "fdinfo"
  replacement, since you see whether the file is open for reading and/or
  writing by just looking at st_mode of the symlink.  So the feature
  does make sense, even if the pain it has caused means we probably
  shouldn't have done it to begin with. ]

Reported-and-tested-by: Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/proc/base.c