[SCSI] aacraid: controller hangs if kernel uses non-default ASPM policy
authorVasily Averin <vvs@parallels.com>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 09:42:16 +0000 (13:42 +0400)
committerJames Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 14:19:01 +0000 (08:19 -0600)
commitcf16123c9c8e346ed1dd171295a678d77648d7f8
treeb461812a58f931e93d52c94380a42d067bd6497f
parent181a9d795ab763b03b15f73402691abde98d1803
[SCSI] aacraid: controller hangs if kernel uses non-default ASPM policy

Aacraid controller can hang on some nodes if kernel uses non-default
(powersave) ASPM policy.  Controller hangs shortly after successful load and
hardware detection. Scsi error handler detects this hang and tries to restart
hardware but it does not help.

Initially it was noticed on RHEL6-based openVZ kernel after backporting
aacraid driver from mainline (RHEL6 kernel with original driver works well)
http://bugzilla.openvz.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2043

This issue happens because default ASPM policy was changed in Red Hat
kernels. Therefore guys from Red Hat have noticed this problem long time ago:
on Fedora 12
 https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=540478
on Fedora 14
 https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=679385

In RHEL6 kernel this issue was fixed, ASPM was disabled in aacraid driver. In
kernel changelog I've found that seems it was done by Matthew Garrett: -
[scsi] aacraid: Disable ASPM by default (Matthew Garrett) [599735]

However seems this patch was not submitted to mainline. I've reproduced this
issue on vanilla 3.1.0 kernel booted with "pcie_aspm.policy=powersave" option,
So I believe it makes sense to do it now.

Signed-off-by: Vasily Averin <vvs@sw.ru>
[mjg: Checking the Windows drivers indicates that they disable ASPM under all
circumstances, so:]
Acked-by: Matthew Garrett <mjg@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Achim Leubner <Achim_Leubner@pmc-sierra.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
drivers/scsi/aacraid/linit.c