net: deinit automatic LIST_HEAD
authorEric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Thu, 17 Feb 2011 22:59:19 +0000 (22:59 +0000)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Fri, 18 Feb 2011 19:49:36 +0000 (11:49 -0800)
commitceaaec98ad99859ac90ac6863ad0a6cd075d8e0e
tree12754d2780860162b031e8c67c80866473cb4fe9
parentf87e6f47933e3ebeced9bb12615e830a72cedce4
net: deinit automatic LIST_HEAD

commit 9b5e383c11b08784 (net: Introduce
unregister_netdevice_many()) left an active LIST_HEAD() in
rollback_registered(), with possible memory corruption.

Even if device is freed without touching its unreg_list (and therefore
touching the previous memory location holding LISTE_HEAD(single), better
close the bug for good, since its really subtle.

(Same fix for default_device_exit_batch() for completeness)

Reported-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Tested-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Reported-by: Eric W. Biderman <ebiderman@xmission.com>
Tested-by: Eric W. Biderman <ebiderman@xmission.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
CC: Octavian Purdila <opurdila@ixiacom.com>
CC: stable <stable@kernel.org> [.33+]
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
net/core/dev.c