perf: Make bp_len type to u64 generic across the arch
authorMahesh Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Sat, 30 Jan 2010 04:55:18 +0000 (09:55 +0530)
committerFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Thu, 4 Feb 2010 00:07:12 +0000 (01:07 +0100)
commitcd757645fbdc34a8343c04bb0e74e06fccc2cb10
treeb06a5b92674731846b4d22aa53c99d6099b304b7
parentc80d292f137275a1ed88e6ed515ecb457051f1a4
perf: Make bp_len type to u64 generic across the arch

Change 'bp_len' type to __u64 to make it work across archs as
the s390 architecture watch point length can be upto 2^64.

reference:
http://lkml.org/lkml/2010/1/25/212

This is an ABI change that is not backward compatible with
the previous hardware breakpoint info layout integrated in this
development cycle, a rebuilt of perf tools is necessary for
versions based on 2.6.33-rc1 - 2.6.33-rc6 to work with a
kernel based on this patch.

Signed-off-by: Mahesh Salgaonkar <mahesh@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ananth N Mavinakayanahalli <ananth@in.ibm.com>
Cc: "K. Prasad" <prasad@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Maneesh Soni <maneesh@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
LKML-Reference: <20100130045518.GA20776@in.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
include/linux/hw_breakpoint.h
include/linux/perf_event.h
kernel/hw_breakpoint.c
kernel/perf_event.c