mm: avoid null pointer access in vm_struct via /proc/vmallocinfo
authorMitsuo Hayasaka <mitsuo.hayasaka.hu@hitachi.com>
Tue, 1 Nov 2011 00:08:13 +0000 (17:08 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Fri, 11 Nov 2011 17:43:33 +0000 (09:43 -0800)
commitcc3370d8221a8561a0f955aedc243af971b1e9d7
tree0e09caff6382c9539bea51024b3ac2c3336ce086
parentf9f92901e2810448ed31691613a78cc232e4bc84
mm: avoid null pointer access in vm_struct via /proc/vmallocinfo

commit f5252e009d5b87071a919221e4f6624184005368 upstream.

The /proc/vmallocinfo shows information about vmalloc allocations in
vmlist that is a linklist of vm_struct.  It, however, may access pages
field of vm_struct where a page was not allocated.  This results in a null
pointer access and leads to a kernel panic.

Why this happens: In __vmalloc_node_range() called from vmalloc(), newly
allocated vm_struct is added to vmlist at __get_vm_area_node() and then,
some fields of vm_struct such as nr_pages and pages are set at
__vmalloc_area_node().  In other words, it is added to vmlist before it is
fully initialized.  At the same time, when the /proc/vmallocinfo is read,
it accesses the pages field of vm_struct according to the nr_pages field
at show_numa_info().  Thus, a null pointer access happens.

The patch adds the newly allocated vm_struct to the vmlist *after* it is
fully initialized.  So, it can avoid accessing the pages field with
unallocated page when show_numa_info() is called.

Signed-off-by: Mitsuo Hayasaka <mitsuo.hayasaka.hu@hitachi.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@gmail.com>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
include/linux/vmalloc.h
mm/vmalloc.c