epoll: prevent missed events on EPOLL_CTL_MOD
authorEric Wong <normalperson@yhbt.net>
Tue, 1 Jan 2013 21:20:27 +0000 (21:20 +0000)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Thu, 17 Jan 2013 16:50:54 +0000 (08:50 -0800)
commitcbedcb6121561ec79d4cda359e834ca6229786a8
tree2155472bf7add63a81f2b1ee455f8409ef918035
parentba1de754297ed6756f0a6281f3e41a0ef9ff0d77
epoll: prevent missed events on EPOLL_CTL_MOD

commit 128dd1759d96ad36c379240f8b9463e8acfd37a1 upstream.

EPOLL_CTL_MOD sets the interest mask before calling f_op->poll() to
ensure events are not missed.  Since the modifications to the interest
mask are not protected by the same lock as ep_poll_callback, we need to
ensure the change is visible to other CPUs calling ep_poll_callback.

We also need to ensure f_op->poll() has an up-to-date view of past
events which occured before we modified the interest mask.  So this
barrier also pairs with the barrier in wq_has_sleeper().

This should guarantee either ep_poll_callback or f_op->poll() (or both)
will notice the readiness of a recently-ready/modified item.

This issue was encountered by Andreas Voellmy and Junchang(Jason) Wang in:
http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel/1408782/

Signed-off-by: Eric Wong <normalperson@yhbt.net>
Cc: Hans Verkuil <hans.verkuil@cisco.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andreas Voellmy <andreas.voellmy@yale.edu>
Tested-by: "Junchang(Jason) Wang" <junchang.wang@yale.edu>
Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
fs/eventpoll.c