Simplify exec_permission_lite(), part 3
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 28 Aug 2009 18:08:31 +0000 (11:08 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 8 Sep 2009 18:07:44 +0000 (11:07 -0700)
commitcb9179ead0aa0e3b7b4087cdba59baf16bbeef6d
tree04d91abc90dc3f48d70bc95bc9bed6f561369008
parentf1ac9f6bfea6f21e8ab6dbbe46879d62a6fba8c0
Simplify exec_permission_lite(), part 3

Don't call down to the generic inode_permission() function just to
call the inode-specific permission function - just do it directly.

The generic inode_permission() code does things like checking MAY_WRITE
and devcgroup_inode_permission(), neither of which are relevant for the
light pathname walk permission checks (we always do just MAY_EXEC, and
the inode is never a special device).

Reviewed-by: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Acked-by: Serge Hallyn <serue@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/namei.c