cfg80211: fix disabling channels based on hints
authorLuis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
Wed, 20 Oct 2010 17:18:55 +0000 (10:18 -0700)
committerJohn W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
Mon, 15 Nov 2010 18:24:10 +0000 (13:24 -0500)
commitca4ffe8f2848169a8ded0ea8a60b2d81925564c9
treebfc6dabaf52b07b59c5146e26f71fe5193ddd04c
parent749b527b21465fb079796c03ffb4302584dc31c1
cfg80211: fix disabling channels based on hints

After a module loads you will have loaded the world roaming regulatory
domain or a custom regulatory domain. Further regulatory hints are
welcomed and should be respected unless the regulatory hint is coming
from a country IE as the IEEE spec allows for a country IE to be a subset
of what is allowed by the local regulatory agencies.

So disable all channels that do not fit a regulatory domain sent
from a unless the hint is from a country IE and the country IE had
no information about the band we are currently processing.

This fixes a few regulatory issues, for example for drivers that depend
on CRDA and had no 5 GHz freqencies allowed were not properly disabling
5 GHz at all, furthermore it also allows users to restrict devices
further as was intended.

If you recieve a country IE upon association we will also disable the
channels that are not allowed if the country IE had at least one
channel on the respective band we are procesing.

This was the original intention behind this design but it was
completely overlooked...

Cc: David Quan <david.quan@atheros.com>
Cc: Jouni Malinen <jouni.malinen@atheros.com>
cc: Easwar Krishnan <easwar.krishnan@atheros.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Luis R. Rodriguez <lrodriguez@atheros.com>
Signed-off-by: John W. Linville <linville@tuxdriver.com>
include/linux/nl80211.h
net/wireless/reg.c