cpufreq: Add a knob to treat IO wait as busy
authorsatya popuri <spopuri@nvidia.com>
Fri, 9 Mar 2012 18:57:31 +0000 (10:57 -0800)
committerRohan Somvanshi <rsomvanshi@nvidia.com>
Thu, 15 Mar 2012 15:45:00 +0000 (08:45 -0700)
commitc8c6328fac300f8b93cb61c99e8280981692fa56
treeba635a2cac5acfc811d1de6be65f35f473cf1b0d
parent5bfda21810b190dd50185e839d9a4b650e5fa8f1
cpufreq: Add a knob to treat IO wait as busy

The new sysfs node io_is_busy enables the interactive governor to
account any time spent by the CPU waiting for IO as non-idle time.
This helps us improve run-time of IO bound tasks by making up for
lost IO time in speeding up the CPU bound parts of the task.

Reviewed on http://git-master/r/#change,86894
cherry picked from 13a15aadc1134b5dae05cdcf9687396644f87411
Signed-off-by: satya popuri <spopuri@nvidia.com>

Change-Id: I4a14ed7fef5fbce00054bb02d52d2d3e0f011f70
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/89218
Reviewed-by: Satya Popuri <spopuri@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Satya Popuri <spopuri@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: Automatic_Commit_Validation_User
Reviewed-by: Diwakar Tundlam <dtundlam@nvidia.com>
drivers/cpufreq/cpufreq_interactive.c