mm: compaction: make isolate_lru_page() filter-aware again
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:19:38 +0000 (17:19 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:13:09 +0000 (20:13 -0800)
commitc82449352854ff09e43062246af86bdeb628f0c3
tree9cb8052e425c8cdab24ac41e83bbb672832ce54e
parentb969c4ab9f182a6e1b2a0848be349f99714947b0
mm: compaction: make isolate_lru_page() filter-aware again

Commit 39deaf85 ("mm: compaction: make isolate_lru_page() filter-aware")
noted that compaction does not migrate dirty or writeback pages and that
is was meaningless to pick the page and re-add it to the LRU list.  This
had to be partially reverted because some dirty pages can be migrated by
compaction without blocking.

This patch updates "mm: compaction: make isolate_lru_page" by skipping
over pages that migration has no possibility of migrating to minimise LRU
disruption.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel<riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Andy Isaacson <adi@hexapodia.org>
Cc: Nai Xia <nai.xia@gmail.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/mmzone.h
mm/compaction.c
mm/vmscan.c