tracing: make CALLER_ADDRx overwriteable
authorUwe Kleine-Koenig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Fri, 27 Feb 2009 20:30:03 +0000 (21:30 +0100)
committerSteven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
Mon, 2 Mar 2009 21:49:37 +0000 (16:49 -0500)
commitc79a61f55773d2519fd0525bf58385f7d20752d3
tree7f2d2eca7e6e7fbe9804800f03ae4c7d52d775b7
parent96ccd21cd13140221bda74a4fc4e53ffeba7c7d4
tracing: make CALLER_ADDRx overwriteable

The current definition of CALLER_ADDRx isn't suitable for all platforms.
E.g. for ARM __builtin_return_address(N) doesn't work for N > 0 and
AFAIK for powerpc there are no frame pointers needed to have a working
__builtin_return_address.  This patch allows defining the CALLER_ADDRx
macros in <asm/ftrace.h> and let these take precedence.

Because now <asm/ftrace.h> is included unconditionally in
<linux/ftrace.h> all archs that don't already had this include get an
empty one for free.

Signed-off-by: Uwe Kleine-Koenig <u.kleine-koenig@pengutronix.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
14 files changed:
arch/alpha/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/avr32/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/blackfin/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/cris/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/h8300/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/m68k/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/mips/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/parisc/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/um/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
arch/xtensa/include/asm/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
include/asm-frv/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
include/asm-m32r/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
include/asm-mn10300/ftrace.h [new file with mode: 0644]
include/linux/ftrace.h