cgroups: support named cgroups hierarchies
authorPaul Menage <menage@google.com>
Wed, 23 Sep 2009 22:56:19 +0000 (15:56 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 24 Sep 2009 14:20:57 +0000 (07:20 -0700)
commitc6d57f3312a6619d47c5557b5f6154a74d04ff80
treeb2e9214e58120c5d91ed0039afd06def62bfdf54
parent34f77a90f79fca31802c2e942bd73f7f557fe28c
cgroups: support named cgroups hierarchies

To simplify referring to cgroup hierarchies in mount statements, and to
allow disambiguation in the presence of empty hierarchies and
multiply-bindable subsystems this patch adds support for naming a new
cgroup hierarchy via the "name=" mount option

A pre-existing hierarchy may be specified by either name or by subsystems;
a hierarchy's name cannot be changed by a remount operation.

Example usage:

# To create a hierarchy called "foo" containing the "cpu" subsystem
mount -t cgroup -oname=foo,cpu cgroup /mnt/cgroup1

# To mount the "foo" hierarchy on a second location
mount -t cgroup -oname=foo cgroup /mnt/cgroup2

Signed-off-by: Paul Menage <menage@google.com>
Reviewed-by: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Balbir Singh <balbir@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Dhaval Giani <dhaval@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Documentation/cgroups/cgroups.txt
kernel/cgroup.c