mm/fs: add hooks to support cleancache
authorDan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:01:43 +0000 (10:01 -0600)
committerDan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Thu, 26 May 2011 16:01:43 +0000 (10:01 -0600)
commitc515e1fd361c2a08a9c2eb139396ec30a4f477dc
treecb1a27f27f065400fc79dc287594843e169d74ab
parent077b1f83a69d94f2918630a882d74939baca0bce
mm/fs: add hooks to support cleancache

This fourth patch of eight in this cleancache series provides the
core hooks in VFS for: initializing cleancache per filesystem;
capturing clean pages reclaimed by page cache; attempting to get
pages from cleancache before filesystem read; and ensuring coherency
between pagecache, disk, and cleancache.  Note that the placement
of these hooks was stable from 2.6.18 to 2.6.38; a minor semantic
change was required due to a patchset in 2.6.39.

All hooks become no-ops if CONFIG_CLEANCACHE is unset, or become
a check of a boolean global if CONFIG_CLEANCACHE is set but no
cleancache "backend" has claimed cleancache_ops.

Details and a FAQ can be found in Documentation/vm/cleancache.txt

[v8: minchan.kim@gmail.com: adapt to new remove_from_page_cache function]
Signed-off-by: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Signed-off-by: Dan Magenheimer <dan.magenheimer@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy@goop.org>
Reviewed-by: Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Matthew Wilcox <matthew@wil.cx>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@kernel.dk>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Rik Van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Jan Beulich <JBeulich@novell.com>
Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger@sun.com>
Cc: Ted Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: Mark Fasheh <mfasheh@suse.com>
Cc: Joel Becker <joel.becker@oracle.com>
Cc: Nitin Gupta <ngupta@vflare.org>
fs/buffer.c
fs/mpage.c
fs/super.c
mm/filemap.c
mm/truncate.c