gpiolib: introduce set_debounce method
authorFelipe Balbi <felipe.balbi@nokia.com>
Wed, 26 May 2010 21:42:23 +0000 (14:42 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Thu, 27 May 2010 16:12:42 +0000 (09:12 -0700)
commitc4b5be98fe78508e7199d6919eb712feba9a4f01
tree9e688dd076cea9213f8bcbda3627aa7941a01879
parent796a8e423ac8afe9e98ad96e668f50142bdd7825
gpiolib: introduce set_debounce method

A few architectures, like OMAP, allow you to set a debouncing time for the
gpio before generating the IRQ.  Teach gpiolib about that.

Mark said:
: This would be generally useful for embedded systems, especially where
: the interrupt concerned is a wake source.  It allows drivers to avoid
: spurious interrupts from noisy sources so if the hardware supports it
: the driver can avoid having to explicitly wait for the signal to become
: stable and software has to cope with fewer events.  We've lived without
: it for quite some time, though.

David said:
: I looked at adding debounce support to the generic GPIO calls (and thus
: gpiolib) some time back, but decided against it.  I forget why at this
: time (check list archives) but it wasn't because of lack of utility in
: certain contexts.
:
: One thing to watch out for is just how variable the hardware capabilities
: are.  Atmel GPIOs have something like a fixed number of 32K clock cycles
: for debounce, twl4030 had something odd, OMAPs were more like the Atmel
: chips but with a different clock.  In some cases debouncing had to be
: ganged, not per-GPIO.  And so forth.

Signed-off-by: Felipe Balbi <felipe.balbi@nokia.com>
Cc: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
Cc: David Brownell <david-b@pacbell.net>
Reviewed-by: Mark Brown <broonie@opensource.wolfsonmicro.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
drivers/gpio/gpiolib.c
include/asm-generic/gpio.h
include/linux/gpio.h