hwspinlock/core/omap: fix id issues on multiple hwspinlock devices
authorOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Mon, 5 Sep 2011 20:15:06 +0000 (23:15 +0300)
committerOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Wed, 21 Sep 2011 16:45:32 +0000 (19:45 +0300)
commitc3c1250e93a7ab1327a9fc49d2a22405672f4204
tree2dc99df2ab4657de87a66da7d0a047a95ff27711
parentc97f6dd0fe21dfd658c59c144a1b7fd5d8db04ac
hwspinlock/core/omap: fix id issues on multiple hwspinlock devices

hwspinlock devices provide system-wide hardware locks that are used
by remote processors that have no other way to achieve synchronization.

To achieve that, each physical lock must have a system-wide id number
that is agreed upon, otherwise remote processors can't possibly assume
they're using the same hardware lock.

Usually boards have a single hwspinlock device, which provides several
hwspinlocks, and in this case, they can be trivially numbered 0 to
(num-of-locks - 1).

In case boards have several hwspinlocks devices, a different base id
should be used for each hwspinlock device (they can't all use 0 as
a starting id!).

While this is certainly not common, it's just plain wrong to just
silently use 0 as a base id whenever the hwspinlock driver is probed.

This patch provides a hwspinlock_pdata structure, that boards can use
to set a different base id for each of the hwspinlock devices they may
have, and demonstrates how to use it with the omap hwspinlock driver.

While we're at it, make sure the hwspinlock core prints an explicit
error message in case an hwspinlock is registered with an id number
that already exists; this will help users catch such base id issues.

Reported-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Signed-off-by: Ohad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Acked-by: Tony Lindgren <tony@atomide.com>
arch/arm/mach-omap2/hwspinlock.c
drivers/hwspinlock/hwspinlock_core.c
drivers/hwspinlock/omap_hwspinlock.c
include/linux/hwspinlock.h