cdrom: always check_disk_change() on open
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 08:15:14 +0000 (10:15 +0200)
committerJens Axboe <jaxboe@fusionio.com>
Fri, 29 Apr 2011 08:17:25 +0000 (10:17 +0200)
commitbf2253a6f00e8fea5b026e471e9f0d0a1b3621f2
tree5ae346dd9f30041f5b33aca2f5adea4f44dd8f6f
parent9fd097b14918875bd6f125ed699d7bbbba5893ee
cdrom: always check_disk_change() on open

cdrom_open() called check_disk_change() after the rest of open path
succeeded which leads to the following bizarre behavior.

* After media change, if the device opened without O_NONBLOCK,
  open_for_data() naturally fails with -ENOMEDIA and
  check_disk_change() is never called.  The media is known to be gone
  and the open failure makes it obvious to the userland but device
  invalidation never happens.

* But if the device is opened with O_NONBLOCK, all the checks are
  bypassed and cdrom_open() doesn't notice that the media is not there
  and check_disk_change() is called and invalidation happens.

There's nothing to be gained by avoiding calling check_disk_change()
on open failure.  Common cases end up calling check_disk_change()
anyway.  All we get is inconsistent behavior.

Fix it by moving check_disk_change() invocation to the top of
cdrom_open() so that it always gets called regardless of how the rest
of open proceeds.

Stable: 2.6.38

Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Reported-by: Amit Shah <amit.shah@redhat.com>
Tested-by: Amit Shah <amit.shah@redhat.com>
Cc: stable@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <jaxboe@fusionio.com>
drivers/cdrom/cdrom.c