mm: sparsemem memory_present() fix
authorIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Tue, 15 Apr 2008 23:40:00 +0000 (01:40 +0200)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 16 Apr 2008 02:30:19 +0000 (19:30 -0700)
commitbead9a3abd15710b0bdfd418daef606722d86282
tree7557956e8dfe027c0ecf2f2ed759169a4e02a266
parentcf39cc3b56bc4a562db6242d3069f65034ec7549
mm: sparsemem memory_present() fix

Fix memory corruption and crash on 32-bit x86 systems.

If a !PAE x86 kernel is booted on a 32-bit system with more than 4GB of
RAM, then we call memory_present() with a start/end that goes outside
the scope of MAX_PHYSMEM_BITS.

That causes this loop to happily walk over the limit of the sparse
memory section map:

    for (pfn = start; pfn < end; pfn += PAGES_PER_SECTION) {
                unsigned long section = pfn_to_section_nr(pfn);
                struct mem_section *ms;

                sparse_index_init(section, nid);
                set_section_nid(section, nid);

                ms = __nr_to_section(section);
                if (!ms->section_mem_map)
                        ms->section_mem_map = sparse_encode_early_nid(nid) |
                                SECTION_MARKED_PRESENT;

'ms' will be out of bounds and we'll corrupt a small amount of memory by
encoding the node ID and writing SECTION_MARKED_PRESENT (==0x1) over it.

The corruption might happen when encoding a non-zero node ID, or due to
the SECTION_MARKED_PRESENT which is 0x1:

mmzone.h:#define SECTION_MARKED_PRESENT (1UL<<0)

The fix is to sanity check anything the architecture passes to
sparsemem.

This bug seems to be rather old (as old as sparsemem support itself),
but the exact incarnation depended on random details like configs, which
made this bug more prominent in v2.6.25-to-be.

An additional enhancement might be to print a warning about ignored or
trimmed memory ranges.

Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Tested-by: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Cc: Pekka Enberg <penberg@cs.helsinki.fi>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Cc: Yinghai Lu <Yinghai.Lu@sun.com>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/sparse.c