Revert "vfs: Export file system uuid via /proc/<pid>/mountinfo"
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 12 Apr 2011 20:35:56 +0000 (13:35 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 12 Apr 2011 20:35:56 +0000 (13:35 -0700)
commitbe85bccaa5aa5a11dcaf85f9e945ffefd253f631
tree342a0c1529d077ec499f62dfa01ff4697387f1ab
parent16ad56972ca3161eb97583897f17c1ead0c4ebd0
Revert "vfs: Export file system uuid via /proc/<pid>/mountinfo"

This reverts commit 93f1c20bc8cdb757be50566eff88d65c3b26881f.

It turns out that libmount misparses it because it adds a '-' character
in the uuid string, which libmount then incorrectly confuses with the
separator string (" - ") at the end of all the optional arguments.

Upstream libmount (in the util-linux tree) has been fixed, but until
that fix actually percolates up to users, we'd better not expose this
change in the kernel.

Let's revisit this later (possibly by exposing the UUID without any '-'
characters in it, avoiding the user-space bug).

Reported-by: Dave Jones <davej@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Karel Zak <kzak@redhat.com>
Cc: Ram Pai <linuxram@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Miklos Szeredi <mszeredi@suse.cz>
Cc: Eric Sandeen <sandeen@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/namespace.c
include/linux/fs.h