splice: use get_user_pages_fast
authorNick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 02:45:26 +0000 (19:45 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sat, 26 Jul 2008 19:00:06 +0000 (12:00 -0700)
commitbc40d73c950146725e9e768e856a416ec8949065
tree7d12351ddeb6a281ff7a9b5db543067c710d1859
parentf5dd33c494a427b1d1a3b574de5c9e511c888864
splice: use get_user_pages_fast

Use get_user_pages_fast in splice.  This reverts some mmap_sem batching
there, however the biggest problem with mmap_sem tends to be hold times
blocking out other threads rather than cacheline bouncing.  Further: on
architectures that implement get_user_pages_fast without locks, mmap_sem
can be avoided completely anyway.

Signed-off-by: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@austin.ibm.com>
Cc: Andy Whitcroft <apw@shadowen.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: Dave Kleikamp <shaggy@austin.ibm.com>
Cc: Badari Pulavarty <pbadari@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Zach Brown <zach.brown@oracle.com>
Cc: Jens Axboe <jens.axboe@oracle.com>
Reviewed-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
fs/splice.c