block: initialize request_queue's numa node during
authorMike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Wed, 23 Nov 2011 09:59:13 +0000 (10:59 +0100)
committerRohan Somvanshi <rsomvanshi@nvidia.com>
Wed, 11 Jan 2012 17:26:34 +0000 (09:26 -0800)
commitb5f50e1779db150d7c907f1ecf3caa7e31458787
treea49ac5ee3324df907eabfe58b9b36fdae2f677c2
parent2e971ed3bc0d1a089797f62ca171f58588d5f977
block: initialize request_queue's numa node during

commit 5151412dd4338b273afdb107c3772528e9e67d92 upstream.

struct request_queue is allocated with __GFP_ZERO so its "node" field is
zero before initialization.  This causes an oops if node 0 is offline in
the page allocator because its zonelists are not initialized.  From Dave
Young's dmesg:

SRAT: Node 1 PXM 2 0-d0000000
SRAT: Node 1 PXM 2 100000000-330000000
SRAT: Node 0 PXM 1 330000000-630000000
Initmem setup node 1 0000000000000000-000000000affb000
...
Built 1 zonelists in Node order, mobility grouping on.
...
BUG: unable to handle kernel paging request at 0000000000001c08
IP: [<ffffffff8111c355>] __alloc_pages_nodemask+0xb5/0x870

and __alloc_pages_nodemask+0xb5 translates to a NULL pointer on
zonelist->_zonerefs.

The fix is to initialize q->node at the time of allocation so the correct
node is passed to the slab allocator later.

Since blk_init_allocated_queue_node() is no longer needed, merge it with
blk_init_allocated_queue().

[rientjes@google.com: changelog, initializing q->node]
Reported-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Tested-by: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>

Change-Id: I24b14588aef6226f3bcdf37e78af61cbe9a31fd2
Reviewed-on: http://git-master/r/74168
Reviewed-by: Varun Wadekar <vwadekar@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: Varun Wadekar <vwadekar@nvidia.com>
block/blk-core.c
include/linux/blkdev.h