reboot: disable usermodehelper to prevent fs access
authorKay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Thu, 5 May 2011 11:32:05 +0000 (13:32 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Sat, 7 May 2011 00:52:32 +0000 (17:52 -0700)
commitb50fa7c8077c625919b1e0a75fc37b825f024518
treec266234fe50b388b475b03a09a25908b508c2293
parentaabb6e1531b0c78423dca6a39620892249fef7f9
reboot: disable usermodehelper to prevent fs access

In case CONFIG_UEVENT_HELPER_PATH is not set to "", which it
should be on every system, the kernel forks processes during
shutdown, which try to access the rootfs, even when the
binary does not exist. It causes exceptions and long delays in
the disk driver, which gets read requests at the time it tries
to shut down the disk.

This patch disables all kernel-forked processes during reboot to
allow a clean poweroff.

Cc: Tejun Heo <htejun@gmail.com>
Tested-By: Anton Guda <atu@dmeti.dp.ua>
Signed-off-by: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
kernel/sys.c