USB: Update last_busy time after autosuspend fails
authorAlan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Thu, 3 Nov 2011 23:52:46 +0000 (00:52 +0100)
committerRafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
Fri, 4 Nov 2011 21:28:14 +0000 (22:28 +0100)
commitb2c0a863e14676fa5760c6d828fd373288e2f64a
treede1248abbc2a45e9798fceb2e9df57bf7440c6d9
parent886486b792e4f6f96d4fbe8ec5bf20811cab7d6a
USB: Update last_busy time after autosuspend fails

Originally, the runtime PM core would send an idle notification
whenever a suspend attempt failed.  The idle callback routine could
then schedule a delayed suspend for some time later.

However this behavior was changed by commit
f71648d73c1650b8b4aceb3856bebbde6daa3b86 (PM / Runtime: Remove idle
notification after failing suspend).  No notifications were sent, and
there was no clear mechanism to retry failed suspends.

This caused problems for the usbhid driver, because it fails
autosuspend attempts as long as a key is being held down.  A companion
patch changes the PM core's behavior, but we also need to change the
USB core.  In particular, this patch (as1493) updates the device's
last_busy time when an autosuspend fails, so that the PM core will
retry the autosuspend in the future when the delay time expires
again.

Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Tested-by: Henrik Rydberg <rydberg@euromail.se>
Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rjw@sisk.pl>
drivers/usb/core/driver.c