workqueue: make alloc_workqueue() take printf fmt and args for name
authorTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Tue, 10 Jan 2012 23:11:35 +0000 (15:11 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 11 Jan 2012 00:30:54 +0000 (16:30 -0800)
commitb196be89cdc14a88cc637cdad845a75c5886c82d
tree195816e6ab82362969409b3317d223421502224a
parent0499680a42141d86417a8fbaa8c8db806bea1201
workqueue: make alloc_workqueue() take printf fmt and args for name

alloc_workqueue() currently expects the passed in @name pointer to remain
accessible.  This is inconvenient and a bit silly given that the whole wq
is being dynamically allocated.  This patch updates alloc_workqueue() and
friends to take printf format string instead of opaque string and matching
varargs at the end.  The name is allocated together with the wq and
formatted.

alloc_ordered_workqueue() is converted to a macro to unify varargs
handling with alloc_workqueue(), and, while at it, add comment to
alloc_workqueue().

None of the current in-kernel users pass in string with '%' as constant
name and this change shouldn't cause any problem.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: use __printf]
Signed-off-by: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Suggested-by: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/workqueue.h
kernel/workqueue.c