tracing: Remove side effect from module tracepoints that caused a GPF
authorLi Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
Wed, 24 Mar 2010 02:57:43 +0000 (10:57 +0800)
committerSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Thu, 1 Apr 2010 02:56:58 +0000 (22:56 -0400)
commitae832d1e03ac9bf09fb8a07fb37908ab40c7cd0e
treecf754c5242e66aa0349559af880db5fa29af6f2a
parent50354a8a28d0c91695a2d6d25b5a821bfe557a07
tracing: Remove side effect from module tracepoints that caused a GPF

Remove the @refcnt argument, because it has side-effects, and arguments with
side-effects are not skipped by the jump over disabled instrumentation and are
executed even when the tracepoint is disabled.

This was also causing a GPF as found by Randy Dunlap:

Subject: 2.6.33 GP fault only when built with tracing
LKML-Reference: <4BA2B69D.3000309@oracle.com>

Note, the current 2.6.34-rc has a fix for the actual cause of the GPF,
but this fixes one of its triggers.

Tested-by: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Li Zefan <lizf@cn.fujitsu.com>
LKML-Reference: <4BA97FA7.6040406@cn.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
include/linux/module.h
include/trace/events/module.h
kernel/module.c