Fix blocking allocations called very early during bootup
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 21 May 2012 19:52:42 +0000 (12:52 -0700)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 1 Jun 2012 07:18:15 +0000 (15:18 +0800)
commitae77ce9aa720eefa34f3644d0d9e3ce3976e8f07
tree1c1aff2cb23b93adae43c59fdf961acfdbcb9611
parent538926ed486b8012193586e0c2dceda20e9c032a
Fix blocking allocations called very early during bootup

commit 31a67102f4762df5544bc2dfb34a931233d2a5b2 upstream.

During early boot, when the scheduler hasn't really been fully set up,
we really can't do blocking allocations because with certain (dubious)
configurations the "might_resched()" calls can actually result in
scheduling events.

We could just make such users always use GFP_ATOMIC, but quite often the
code that does the allocation isn't really aware of the fact that the
scheduler isn't up yet, and forcing that kind of random knowledge on the
initialization code is just annoying and not good for anybody.

And we actually have a the 'gfp_allowed_mask' exactly for this reason:
it's just that the kernel init sequence happens to set it to allow
blocking allocations much too early.

So move the 'gfp_allowed_mask' initialization from 'start_kernel()'
(which is some of the earliest init code, and runs with preemption
disabled for good reasons) into 'kernel_init()'.  kernel_init() is run
in the newly created thread that will become the 'init' process, as
opposed to the early startup code that runs within the context of what
will be the first idle thread.

So by the time we reach 'kernel_init()', we know that the scheduler must
be at least limping along, because we've already scheduled from the idle
thread into the init thread.

Reported-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
init/main.c