perf symbols: Fix ppc64 SEGV in dso__load_sym with debuginfo files
authorAnton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Wed, 24 Aug 2011 06:40:14 +0000 (16:40 +1000)
committerArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Fri, 23 Sep 2011 17:35:57 +0000 (14:35 -0300)
commitadb091846318f86e4f46c7d6a7b40d2f478abdbe
treed5144d3e61af6632cbc13069555e71bc35e4a7b0
parentf66fedcb723a9f118170200e21dbabb305f8c702
perf symbols: Fix ppc64 SEGV in dso__load_sym with debuginfo files

64bit PowerPC debuginfo files have an empty function descriptor section.
I hit a SEGV when perf tried to use this section for symbol resolution.

To fix this we need to check the section is valid and we can do this by
checking for type SHT_PROGBITS.

Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20110824065242.895239970@samba.org
Signed-off-by: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
tools/perf/util/symbol.c