mm: memcg: remove optimization of keeping the root_mem_cgroup LRU lists empty
authorJohannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 01:18:02 +0000 (17:18 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Fri, 13 Jan 2012 04:13:05 +0000 (20:13 -0800)
commitad2b8e601099a23dffffb53f91c18d874fe98854
tree6b7706f3005fd799f23d0ddc21fe5b33fd1e79ac
parent5660048ccac8735d9bc0a46325a02e6a6518b5b2
mm: memcg: remove optimization of keeping the root_mem_cgroup LRU lists empty

root_mem_cgroup, lacking a configurable limit, was never subject to
limit reclaim, so the pages charged to it could be kept off its LRU
lists.  They would be found on the global per-zone LRU lists upon
physical memory pressure and it made sense to avoid uselessly linking
them to both lists.

The global per-zone LRU lists are about to go away on memcg-enabled
kernels, with all pages being exclusively linked to their respective
per-memcg LRU lists.  As a result, pages of the root_mem_cgroup must
also be linked to its LRU lists again.  This is purely about the LRU
list, root_mem_cgroup is still not charged.

The overhead is temporary until the double-LRU scheme is going away
completely.

Signed-off-by: Johannes Weiner <jweiner@redhat.com>
Reviewed-by: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Reviewed-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Daisuke Nishimura <nishimura@mxp.nes.nec.co.jp>
Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>
Cc: Ying Han <yinghan@google.com>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/memcontrol.c