md/raid6: asynchronous raid6 operations
authorDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Tue, 14 Jul 2009 20:40:19 +0000 (13:40 -0700)
committerDan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Sun, 30 Aug 2009 02:13:12 +0000 (19:13 -0700)
commitac6b53b6e6acab27e4f3e2383f9ac1f0d7c6200b
treee9c67502fd32a9eea4902ea382e51eecb09f2a54
parent4e7d2c0aefb77f7b24942e5af042a083be4d60bb
md/raid6: asynchronous raid6 operations

[ Based on an original patch by Yuri Tikhonov ]

The raid_run_ops routine uses the asynchronous offload api and
the stripe_operations member of a stripe_head to carry out xor+pq+copy
operations asynchronously, outside the lock.

The operations performed by RAID-6 are the same as in the RAID-5 case
except for no support of STRIPE_OP_PREXOR operations. All the others
are supported:
STRIPE_OP_BIOFILL
 - copy data into request buffers to satisfy a read request
STRIPE_OP_COMPUTE_BLK
 - generate missing blocks (1 or 2) in the cache from the other blocks
STRIPE_OP_BIODRAIN
 - copy data out of request buffers to satisfy a write request
STRIPE_OP_RECONSTRUCT
 - recalculate parity for new data that has entered the cache
STRIPE_OP_CHECK
 - verify that the parity is correct

The flow is the same as in the RAID-5 case, and reuses some routines, namely:
1/ ops_complete_postxor (renamed to ops_complete_reconstruct)
2/ ops_complete_compute (updated to set up to 2 targets uptodate)
3/ ops_run_check (renamed to ops_run_check_p for xor parity checks)

[neilb@suse.de: fixes to get it to pass mdadm regression suite]
Reviewed-by: Andre Noll <maan@systemlinux.org>
Signed-off-by: Yuri Tikhonov <yur@emcraft.com>
Signed-off-by: Ilya Yanok <yanok@emcraft.com>
Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
drivers/md/Kconfig
drivers/md/raid5.c
drivers/md/raid5.h