genirq: Unmask oneshot irqs when thread was not woken
authorThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Tue, 7 Feb 2012 16:58:03 +0000 (17:58 +0100)
committerThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Wed, 15 Feb 2012 10:56:59 +0000 (11:56 +0100)
commitac5637611150281f398bb7a47e3fcb69a09e7803
treeb23a336c4409ad3cf00f211f0c709c8c757d9fd3
parent7ada1dd62804ca9ce1cb8666c6e563cd92fa50c1
genirq: Unmask oneshot irqs when thread was not woken

When the primary handler of an interrupt which is marked IRQ_ONESHOT
returns IRQ_HANDLED or IRQ_NONE, then the interrupt thread is not
woken and the unmask logic of the interrupt line is never
invoked. This keeps the interrupt masked forever.

This was not noticed as most IRQ_ONESHOT users wake the thread
unconditionally (usually because they cannot access the underlying
device from hard interrupt context). Though this behaviour was nowhere
documented and not necessarily intentional. Some drivers can avoid the
thread wakeup in certain cases and run into the situation where the
interrupt line s kept masked.

Handle it gracefully.

Reported-and-tested-by: Lothar Wassmann <lw@karo-electronics.de>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
kernel/irq/chip.c