vmscan: set up pagevec as late as possible in shrink_page_list()
authorMel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Tue, 10 Aug 2010 00:19:31 +0000 (17:19 -0700)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 10 Aug 2010 03:45:00 +0000 (20:45 -0700)
commitabe4c3b50c3f25cb1baf56036024860f12f96015
tree20ac47ac168b30f1dde6773d103ed13432802049
parent666356297ec4e9e6594c6008803f2b1403ff7950
vmscan: set up pagevec as late as possible in shrink_page_list()

shrink_page_list() sets up a pagevec to release pages as according as they
are free.  It uses significant amounts of stack on the pagevec.  This
patch adds pages to be freed via pagevec to a linked list which is then
freed en-masse at the end.  This avoids using stack in the main path that
potentially calls writepage().

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>
Cc: Chris Mason <chris.mason@oracle.com>
Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Michael Rubin <mrubin@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/vmscan.c