pci: use security_capable() when checking capablities during config space read
authorChris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
Tue, 15 Feb 2011 01:21:49 +0000 (17:21 -0800)
committerJames Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Tue, 15 Feb 2011 08:06:31 +0000 (19:06 +1100)
commita628e7b87e100befac9702aa0c3b9848a7685e49
tree3771e7bc343f9ce6cd336f513d7c177845d8f92b
parent795abaf1e4e188c4171e3cd3dbb11a9fcacaf505
pci: use security_capable() when checking capablities during config space read

This reintroduces commit 47970b1b which was subsequently reverted
as f00eaeea.  The original change was broken and caused X startup
failures and generally made privileged processes incapable of reading
device dependent config space.  The normal capable() interface returns
true on success, but the LSM interface returns 0 on success.  This thinko
is now fixed in this patch, and has been confirmed to work properly.

So, once again...Eric Paris noted that commit de139a3 ("pci: check caps
from sysfs file open to read device dependent config space") caused the
capability check to bypass security modules and potentially auditing.
Rectify this by calling security_capable() when checking the open file's
capabilities for config space reads.

Reported-by: Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>
Tested-by: Dave Young <hidave.darkstar@gmail.com>
Acked-by: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@gmail.com>
Cc: Alex Riesen <raa.lkml@gmail.com>
Cc: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@googlemail.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Chris Wright <chrisw@sous-sol.org>
Signed-off-by: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
drivers/pci/pci-sysfs.c