sata_promise: don't classify overruns as HSM errors
authorMikael Pettersson <mikpe@it.uu.se>
Sat, 9 Jan 2010 22:32:06 +0000 (23:32 +0100)
committerJeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
Tue, 12 Jan 2010 19:33:07 +0000 (14:33 -0500)
commita2342f46437cde56803a36fdf94da635a74ad41c
tree6cec79d175ca40743087a6f39a613d564a0cda10
parent066000dd856709b6980123eb39b957fe26993f7b
sata_promise: don't classify overruns as HSM errors

When sata_promise encounters an overrun or underrun error it
translates that to a libata AC_ERR_HSM, causing a hard reset.
Since over/under-runs were thought to be rare and transient,
this action seemed reasonable.

Unfortunately it turns out that the controller throws overrun
errors when e.g. hal polls a CD or DVD writer containing blank
media, causing long sequences of hard resets and retries before
EH finally gives up.

This patch updates sata_promise to classify over/under-runs as
AC_ERR_OTHER instead. This allows libata EH and upper layers to
retry or fail the operation as they see fit without the disruption
caused by repeated hard resets.

This fixes a problem using a DVD-RAM drive with sata_promise,
reported by Thomas Schorpp. I also tested it on a DVD-RW drive.

Signed-off-by: Mikael Pettersson <mikpe@it.uu.se>
Tested-by: thomas schorpp <thomas.schorpp@googlemail.com>
Signed-off-by: Jeff Garzik <jgarzik@redhat.com>
drivers/ata/sata_promise.c