CRIS: Import string.c (memcpy) from newlib: fixes compile error with gcc 4
authorJesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
Tue, 4 Mar 2008 22:28:52 +0000 (14:28 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.linux-foundation.org>
Wed, 5 Mar 2008 00:35:13 +0000 (16:35 -0800)
commit9fe3fd03a18ee42006a59b182761d7d0f6f090f3
tree00673510c1ae2629f1482cecb222b8df431bd2e2
parenta51f4124e6d69afdfae34a2ff2e580e7bf224ad2
CRIS: Import string.c (memcpy) from newlib: fixes compile error with gcc 4

Adrian Bunk reported another compile error with a SVN head GCC:

...
CC arch/cris/arch-v10/lib/string.o
/home/bunk/linux/kernel-2.6/git/linux-2.6/arch/cris/arch-v10/lib/string.c:138:
error: lvalue required as increment operand
/home/bunk/linux/kernel-2.6/git/linux-2.6/arch/cris/arch-v10/lib/string.c:138:
error: lvalue required as increment operand
/home/bunk/linux/kernel-2.6/git/linux-2.6/arch/cris/arch-v10/lib/string.c:139:
error: lvalue required as increment operand
...

This is due to the use of the construct:

*((long*)dst)++ = lc;

Which isn't legal since casts don't return an lvalue.

The solution is to import the implementation from newlib,
which is continually autotested together with GCC mainline,
and uses the construct:

*(long *) dst = lc; dst += 4;

Since this is an import of a file from newlib, I'm not touching
the formatting or correcting any checkpatch errors.

As for the earlier fix for memset.c, even if the two files for
CRIS v10 and CRIS v32 are identical at the moment, it might
be possible to tweak the CRIS v32 version.
Thus, I'm not yet folding them into the same file, at least not
until we've done some research on it.

Signed-off-by: Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>
Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
Cc: Adrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
arch/cris/arch-v10/lib/string.c
arch/cris/arch-v32/lib/string.c