PARISC: Redefine ATOMIC_INIT and ATOMIC64_INIT to drop the casts
authorMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Mon, 23 Jul 2012 11:16:19 +0000 (12:16 +0100)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Fri, 14 Sep 2012 17:00:33 +0000 (10:00 -0700)
commit9db2bc1e0363bb9401e6407b198463c01f32dd84
tree76bf494811a3312cd8892a75f41f133f42dc8036
parentdf0b962e0900ec0b2b93eac2795e3e65cc18052f
PARISC: Redefine ATOMIC_INIT and ATOMIC64_INIT to drop the casts

commit bba3d8c3b3c0f2123be5bc687d1cddc13437c923 upstream.

The following build error occured during a parisc build with
swap-over-NFS patches applied.

net/core/sock.c:274:36: error: initializer element is not constant
net/core/sock.c:274:36: error: (near initialization for 'memalloc_socks')
net/core/sock.c:274:36: error: initializer element is not constant

Dave Anglin says:
> Here is the line in sock.i:
>
> struct static_key memalloc_socks = ((struct static_key) { .enabled =
> ((atomic_t) { (0) }) });

The above line contains two compound literals.  It also uses a designated
initializer to initialize the field enabled.  A compound literal is not a
constant expression.

The location of the above statement isn't fully clear, but if a compound
literal occurs outside the body of a function, the initializer list must
consist of constant expressions.

Reported-by: Fengguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: James Bottomley <JBottomley@Parallels.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
arch/parisc/include/asm/atomic.h