mm/filemap_xip.c: fix race condition in xip_file_fault()
authorCarsten Otte <carsteno@de.ibm.com>
Fri, 3 Feb 2012 23:37:14 +0000 (15:37 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Sat, 4 Feb 2012 00:16:41 +0000 (16:16 -0800)
commit99f02ef1f18631eb0a4e0ea0a3d56878dbcb4b90
tree1d08f77be2c89e3ed6a92caebbcdf02f85ba1447
parent82b3f2a7171731cce62f25058d25afb91a14710c
mm/filemap_xip.c: fix race condition in xip_file_fault()

Fix a race condition that shows in conjunction with xip_file_fault() when
two threads of the same user process fault on the same memory page.

In this case, the race winner will install the page table entry and the
unlucky loser will cause an oops: xip_file_fault calls vm_insert_pfn (via
vm_insert_mixed) which drops out at this check:

retval = -EBUSY;
if (!pte_none(*pte))
goto out_unlock;

The resulting -EBUSY return value will trigger a BUG_ON() in
xip_file_fault.

This fix simply considers the fault as fixed in this case, because the
race winner has successfully installed the pte.

[akpm@linux-foundation.org: use conventional (and consistent) comment layout]
Reported-by: David Sadler <dsadler@us.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com>
Reported-by: Louis Alex Eisner <leisner@cs.ucsd.edu>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
mm/filemap_xip.c