vfs: Correctly set the dir i_mutex lockdep class
authorTyler Hicks <tyhicks@canonical.com>
Mon, 12 Dec 2011 16:02:30 +0000 (10:02 -0600)
committerAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Sat, 10 Mar 2012 21:05:38 +0000 (16:05 -0500)
commit978d6d8c4574098050b22281b9ed06818c0b23ca
tree7186772f24633adc91ce02ab532da80eda329532
parentc7b285550544c22bc005ec20978472c9ac7138c6
vfs: Correctly set the dir i_mutex lockdep class

9a7aa12f3911853a introduced additional logic around setting the i_mutex
lockdep class for directory inodes. The idea was that some filesystems
may want their own special lockdep class for different directory
inodes and calling unlock_new_inode() should not clobber one of
those special classes.

I believe that the added conditional, around the *negated* return value
of lockdep_match_class(), caused directory inodes to be placed in the
wrong lockdep class.

inode_init_always() sets the i_mutex lockdep class with i_mutex_key for
all inodes. If the filesystem did not change the class during inode
initialization, then the conditional mentioned above was false and the
directory inode was incorrectly left in the non-directory lockdep class.
If the filesystem did set a special lockdep class, then the conditional
mentioned above was true and that class was clobbered with
i_mutex_dir_key.

This patch removes the negation from the conditional so that the i_mutex
lockdep class is properly set for directory inodes. Special classes are
preserved and directory inodes with unmodified classes are set with
i_mutex_dir_key.

Signed-off-by: Tyler Hicks <tyhicks@canonical.com>
Reviewed-by: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Signed-off-by: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
fs/inode.c