r8169: don't request firmware when there's no userspace.
authorFran├žois Romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com>
Sun, 24 Apr 2011 15:38:48 +0000 (17:38 +0200)
committerFrancois romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com>
Sun, 24 Apr 2011 15:42:57 +0000 (17:42 +0200)
commit953a12cc2889d1be92e80a2d0bab5ffef4942300
tree4ebb736e88c5629c39a23509db4955f047f0f645
parent0b0dc0f17f98b59772ca6380c7d5ce4cc593a974
r8169: don't request firmware when there's no userspace.

The firmware is cached during the first successfull call to open() and
released once the network device is unregistered. The driver uses the
cached firmware between open() and unregister_netdev().

So far the firmware is optional : a failure to load the firmware does
not prevent open() to success. It is thus necessary to 1) unregister
all 816x / 810[23] devices and 2) force a driver probe to issue a new
firmware load.

Signed-off-by: Francois Romieu <romieu@fr.zoreil.com>
Fixed-by: Ciprian Docan <docan@eden.rutgers.edu>
Cc: Realtek linux nic maintainers <nic_swsd@realtek.com>
drivers/net/r8169.c