cifs: fix possible memory corruption in CIFSFindNext
authorJeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Tue, 23 Aug 2011 11:21:28 +0000 (07:21 -0400)
committerSteve French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
Tue, 20 Sep 2011 02:14:40 +0000 (21:14 -0500)
commit9438fabb73eb48055b58b89fc51e0bc4db22fabd
treed8cb3ac7c9e9e3ead5e57b9e362bd2a7084781a4
parent9d037a777695993ec7437e5f451647dea7919d4c
cifs: fix possible memory corruption in CIFSFindNext

The name_len variable in CIFSFindNext is a signed int that gets set to
the resume_name_len in the cifs_search_info. The resume_name_len however
is unsigned and for some infolevels is populated directly from a 32 bit
value sent by the server.

If the server sends a very large value for this, then that value could
look negative when converted to a signed int. That would make that
value pass the PATH_MAX check later in CIFSFindNext. The name_len would
then be used as a length value for a memcpy. It would then be treated
as unsigned again, and the memcpy scribbles over a ton of memory.

Fix this by making the name_len an unsigned value in CIFSFindNext.

Cc: <stable@kernel.org>
Reported-by: Darren Lavender <dcl@hppine99.gbr.hp.com>
Signed-off-by: Jeff Layton <jlayton@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Steve French <sfrench@us.ibm.com>
fs/cifs/cifssmb.c