cfg80211: fix antenna gain handling
authorFelix Fietkau <nbd@openwrt.org>
Wed, 17 Oct 2012 11:56:19 +0000 (13:56 +0200)
committerGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Sat, 17 Nov 2012 21:15:56 +0000 (13:15 -0800)
commit91721d4a83437f183d29ae6397a3934fcfa28436
treece23ce382def353c162f041c8856bf2899f3c439
parentbfc5de3bc907e97b9aabce6d6517a55d5ed6d791
cfg80211: fix antenna gain handling

commit c4a9fafc77a5318f5ed26c509bbcddf03e18c201 upstream.

No driver initializes chan->max_antenna_gain to something sensible, and
the only place where it is being used right now is inside ath9k. This
leads to ath9k potentially using less tx power than it can use, which can
decrease performance/range in some rare cases.

Rather than going through every single driver, this patch initializes
chan->orig_mag in wiphy_register(), ignoring whatever value the driver
left in there. If a driver for some reason wishes to limit it independent
from regulatory rulesets, it can do so internally.

Signed-off-by: Felix Fietkau <nbd@openwrt.org>
Signed-off-by: Johannes Berg <johannes.berg@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
net/wireless/core.c