Revert "[PATCH] binfmt_elf: randomize PIE binaries (2nd try)"
authorLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.osdl.org>
Sat, 6 Jan 2007 21:28:21 +0000 (13:28 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@woody.osdl.org>
Sat, 6 Jan 2007 21:28:21 +0000 (13:28 -0800)
commit90cb28e8f76e57751ffe14abd09c2d53a6aea7c8
treea512f783a9dec262fbff98ff608411d1afd87f97
parentd0abc451a685a8d8a5b05db660b06199786981b1
Revert "[PATCH] binfmt_elf: randomize PIE binaries (2nd try)"

This reverts commit 59287c0913cc9a6c75712a775f6c1c1ef418ef3b.

Hugh Dickins reports that it causes random failures on x86 with SuSE
10.2, and points out

  "Isn't that randomization, anywhere from 0x10000 to ELF_ET_DYN_BASE,
   sure to place the ET_DYN from time to time just where the comment
   says it's trying to avoid? I assume that somehow results in the error
   reported."

(where the comment in question is the existing comment in the source
code about mmap/brk clashes).

Suggested-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Acked-by: Marcus Meissner <meissner@suse.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Cc: Dave Jones <davej@codemonkey.org.uk>
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
fs/binfmt_elf.c