mm: introduce get_mm_hiwater_xxx(), fix taskstats->hiwater_xxx accounting
authorOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 22:40:29 +0000 (14:40 -0800)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Tue, 6 Jan 2009 23:59:09 +0000 (15:59 -0800)
commit901608d9045146aec6f14a7777ea4b1501c379f0
tree0155189f48479b920855dedccba6829363376d4d
parent67d58ac47d25f7e2a105248a4aea6113131ab874
mm: introduce get_mm_hiwater_xxx(), fix taskstats->hiwater_xxx accounting

xacct_add_tsk() relies on do_exit()->update_hiwater_xxx() and uses
mm->hiwater_xxx directly, this leads to 2 problems:

- taskstats_user_cmd() can call fill_pid()->xacct_add_tsk() at any
  moment before the task exits, so we should check the current values of
  rss/vm anyway.

- do_exit()->update_hiwater_xxx() calls are racy.  An exiting thread can
  be preempted right before mm->hiwater_xxx = new_val, and another thread
  can use A_LOT of memory and exit in between.  When the first thread
  resumes it can be the last thread in the thread group, in that case we
  report the wrong hiwater_xxx values which do not take A_LOT into
  account.

Introduce get_mm_hiwater_rss() and get_mm_hiwater_vm() helpers and change
xacct_add_tsk() to use them.  The first helper will also be used by
rusage->ru_maxrss accounting.

Kill do_exit()->update_hiwater_xxx() calls.  Unless we are going to
decrease rss/vm there is no point to update mm->hiwater_xxx, and nobody
can look at this mm_struct when exit_mmap() actually unmaps the memory.

Signed-off-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Acked-by: Hugh Dickins <hugh@veritas.com>
Reviewed-by: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Acked-by: Balbir Singh <balbir@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
include/linux/sched.h
kernel/exit.c
kernel/tsacct.c
mm/mmap.c