net: add limit for socket backlog
authorZhu Yi <yi.zhu@intel.com>
Thu, 4 Mar 2010 18:01:40 +0000 (18:01 +0000)
committerDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Fri, 5 Mar 2010 21:33:59 +0000 (13:33 -0800)
commit8eae939f1400326b06d0c9afe53d2a484a326871
tree0896163cf1a00205fab76cc1c35855157a05cbbc
parent12c3400a84742f8bb0e4edc822e9ccba58781e0c
net: add limit for socket backlog

We got system OOM while running some UDP netperf testing on the loopback
device. The case is multiple senders sent stream UDP packets to a single
receiver via loopback on local host. Of course, the receiver is not able
to handle all the packets in time. But we surprisingly found that these
packets were not discarded due to the receiver's sk->sk_rcvbuf limit.
Instead, they are kept queuing to sk->sk_backlog and finally ate up all
the memory. We believe this is a secure hole that a none privileged user
can crash the system.

The root cause for this problem is, when the receiver is doing
__release_sock() (i.e. after userspace recv, kernel udp_recvmsg ->
skb_free_datagram_locked -> release_sock), it moves skbs from backlog to
sk_receive_queue with the softirq enabled. In the above case, multiple
busy senders will almost make it an endless loop. The skbs in the
backlog end up eat all the system memory.

The issue is not only for UDP. Any protocols using socket backlog is
potentially affected. The patch adds limit for socket backlog so that
the backlog size cannot be expanded endlessly.

Reported-by: Alex Shi <alex.shi@intel.com>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@ghostprotocols.net>
Cc: Alexey Kuznetsov <kuznet@ms2.inr.ac.ru
Cc: "Pekka Savola (ipv6)" <pekkas@netcore.fi>
Cc: Patrick McHardy <kaber@trash.net>
Cc: Vlad Yasevich <vladislav.yasevich@hp.com>
Cc: Sridhar Samudrala <sri@us.ibm.com>
Cc: Jon Maloy <jon.maloy@ericsson.com>
Cc: Allan Stephens <allan.stephens@windriver.com>
Cc: Andrew Hendry <andrew.hendry@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Zhu Yi <yi.zhu@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
Acked-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
include/net/sock.h
net/core/sock.c