sched: Fix the irqtime code for 32bit
authorPeter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Thu, 9 Dec 2010 13:15:34 +0000 (14:15 +0100)
committerIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Thu, 16 Dec 2010 10:17:47 +0000 (11:17 +0100)
commit8e92c20183ed0579d94501311b81c42b65cb2129
tree3a00ccaf8222c994fd7071129dc357321c10c9df
parentfe44d62122829959e960bc699318d58966922a69
sched: Fix the irqtime code for 32bit

Since the irqtime accounting is using non-atomic u64 and can be read
from remote cpus (writes are strictly cpu local, reads are not) we
have to deal with observing partial updates.

When we do observe partial updates the clock movement (in particular,
->clock_task movement) will go funny (in either direction), a
subsequent clock update (observing the full update) will make it go
funny in the oposite direction.

Since we rely on these clocks to be strictly monotonic we cannot
suffer backwards motion. One possible solution would be to simply
ignore all backwards deltas, but that will lead to accounting
artefacts, most notable: clock_task + irq_time != clock, this
inaccuracy would end up in user visible stats.

Therefore serialize the reads using a seqcount.

Reviewed-by: Venkatesh Pallipadi <venki@google.com>
Reported-by: Mikael Pettersson <mikpe@it.uu.se>
Tested-by: Mikael Pettersson <mikpe@it.uu.se>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
LKML-Reference: <1292242434.6803.200.camel@twins>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
kernel/sched.c