Marker depmod fix core kernel list
authorMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
Mon, 6 Oct 2008 13:30:12 +0000 (09:30 -0400)
committerLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Mon, 6 Oct 2008 23:34:19 +0000 (16:34 -0700)
commit87f3b6b6fbcbfa715f0d0db3e7a63e65716a6d4e
treea6c18acb9196b965f6487450d7620f400879107d
parentafed26d151ba90b08361d4af0223daa362136ebd
Marker depmod fix core kernel list

* Theodore Ts'o (tytso@mit.edu) wrote:
>
> I've been playing with adding some markers into ext4 to see if they
> could be useful in solving some problems along with Systemtap.  It
> appears, though, that as of 2.6.27-rc8, markers defined in code which is
> compiled directly into the kernel (i.e., not as modules) don't show up
> in Module.markers:
>
> kvm_trace_entryexit arch/x86/kvm/kvm-intel  %u %p %u %u %u %u %u %u
> kvm_trace_handler arch/x86/kvm/kvm-intel  %u %p %u %u %u %u %u %u
> kvm_trace_entryexit arch/x86/kvm/kvm-amd  %u %p %u %u %u %u %u %u
> kvm_trace_handler arch/x86/kvm/kvm-amd  %u %p %u %u %u %u %u %u
>
> (Note the lack of any of the kernel_sched_* markers, and the markers I
> added for ext4_* and jbd2_* are missing as wel.)
>
> Systemtap apparently depends on in-kernel trace_mark being recorded in
> Module.markers, and apparently it's been claimed that it used to be
> there.  Is this a bug in systemtap, or in how Module.markers is getting
> built?   And is there a file that contains the equivalent information
> for markers located in non-modules code?

I think the problem comes from "markers: fix duplicate modpost entry"
(commit d35cb360c29956510b2fe1a953bd4968536f7216)

Especially :

  -   add_marker(mod, marker, fmt);
  +   if (!mod->skip)
  +     add_marker(mod, marker, fmt);
    }
    return;
   fail:

Here is a fix that should take care if this problem.

Thanks for the bug report!

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
Tested-by: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
CC: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
CC: David Smith <dsmith@redhat.com>
CC: Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
CC: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
CC: Wenji Huang <wenji.huang@oracle.com>
CC: Takashi Nishiie <t-nishiie@np.css.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
scripts/mod/modpost.c