scripts/Kbuild.include: Fix portability problem of "echo -e"
authorBernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Sun, 26 Feb 2012 17:35:18 +0000 (18:35 +0100)
committerMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Sat, 24 Mar 2012 22:32:05 +0000 (23:32 +0100)
commit875de98623fa2b29f0cb19915fe3292ab6daa1cb
treebb72c4f6869fa6ae1d71423d68afdd174e301eee
parentdb7f4e3d2b0a68eafc16a7b78ac0b7566db1e799
scripts/Kbuild.include: Fix portability problem of "echo -e"

"echo -e" is a GNU extension. When cross-compiling the kernel on a
BSD-like operating system (Mac OS X in my case), this doesn't work.

One could install a GNU version of echo, put that in the $PATH before
the system echo and use "/usr/bin/env echo", but the solution with
printf is simpler.

Since it is no disadvantage on Linux, I hope that gets accepted even if
cross-compiling the Linux kernel on another Unix operating system is
quite a rare use case.

Signed-off-by: Bernhard Walle <bernhard@bwalle.de>
Andreas BieƟmann <andreas@biessmann.de>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
scripts/Kbuild.include