ftrace: Fix memory leak with function graph and cpu hotplug
authorSteven Rostedt <srostedt@redhat.com>
Fri, 11 Feb 2011 02:26:13 +0000 (21:26 -0500)
committerSteven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Fri, 11 Feb 2011 21:23:33 +0000 (16:23 -0500)
commit868baf07b1a259f5f3803c1dc2777b6c358f83cf
treea97caf3db1095ceb806ba53ba7d88d47a153e1b8
parent862b6f62bf0cd768910b087f6d051f420206c4d6
ftrace: Fix memory leak with function graph and cpu hotplug

When the fuction graph tracer starts, it needs to make a special
stack for each task to save the real return values of the tasks.
All running tasks have this stack created, as well as any new
tasks.

On CPU hot plug, the new idle task will allocate a stack as well
when init_idle() is called. The problem is that cpu hotplug does
not create a new idle_task. Instead it uses the idle task that
existed when the cpu went down.

ftrace_graph_init_task() will add a new ret_stack to the task
that is given to it. Because a clone will make the task
have a stack of its parent it does not check if the task's
ret_stack is already NULL or not. When the CPU hotplug code
starts a CPU up again, it will allocate a new stack even
though one already existed for it.

The solution is to treat the idle_task specially. In fact, the
function_graph code already does, just not at init_idle().
Instead of using the ftrace_graph_init_task() for the idle task,
which that function expects the task to be a clone, have a
separate ftrace_graph_init_idle_task(). Also, we will create a
per_cpu ret_stack that is used by the idle task. When we call
ftrace_graph_init_idle_task() it will check if the idle task's
ret_stack is NULL, if it is, then it will assign it the per_cpu
ret_stack.

Reported-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Suggested-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Stable Tree <stable@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
include/linux/ftrace.h
kernel/sched.c
kernel/trace/ftrace.c