setlocalversion: Ignote SCMs above the linux source tree
authorMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Mon, 16 Aug 2010 15:09:52 +0000 (17:09 +0200)
committerMichal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
Sat, 21 Aug 2010 13:14:59 +0000 (15:14 +0200)
commit8558f59edf935cf5ee5ffc29a9e9458fd9a71be1
tree7c5f4db113ca10dfbaeb193a762282809fb9cb8b
parent7b8ea53d7f1865cd8f05dfb8f706a4ff5a72abcf
setlocalversion: Ignote SCMs above the linux source tree

Dan McGee <dpmcgee@gmail.com> writes:
> Note that when in git, you get the appended "+" sign. If
> LOCALVERSION_AUTO is set, you will get something like
> "eee-gb01b08c-dirty" (whereas the copy of the tree in /tmp still
> returns "eee"). It doesn't matter whether the working tree is dirty or
> clean.
>
> Is there a way to disable this? I'm building from a clean tarball that
> just happens to be unpacked inside a git repository. One would think
> setting LOCALVERSION_AUTO to false would do it, but no such luck...

Fix this by checking if the kernel source tree is the root of the git or
hg repository. No fix for svn: If the kernel source is not tracked in
the svn repository, it works as expected, otherwise determining the
'repository root' is not really a defined task.

Reported-and-tested-by: Dan McGee <dpmcgee@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>
scripts/setlocalversion